Wing and Walmart said on October 5, 2026 that they will bring drone delivery to the Denver and Seattle metros in 2027. In the Denver, Colorado area, the plan meets a patchwork of suburban rules for the hubs drones launch from, written before the companies named the market. This page separates what the companies confirmed, what local governments have done, and what nobody has said yet.
Walmart drone delivery is planned for the Denver, Colorado metro and the Seattle metro in 2027, operated by Wing, according to Wing’s October 5, 2026 announcement. The companies have not named stores, hub sites or launch months. Around Denver, the deciding factor in the near term is local land-use rules for drone hubs: Northglenn is writing a hub ordinance that its staff believe is the region’s first complete proposal (first reading October 12, final vote expected October 26), Castle Rock and Parker paused hub applications in July 2026, Thornton has been drafting its own rules, and Longmont treats the use as not currently allowed. Those rules govern the ground hub only. Northglenn’s staff memo says the FAA has exclusive authority over the airspace and that a hub in a neighboring town can still serve the city’s addresses.
Key points:
- Confirmed by the companies: Denver and Seattle metros in 2027, bringing their announced expansion to nearly 20 U.S. metros (five have service today); a goal of more than 270 Walmart stores.
- Decided locally: where hubs may sit, their hours, noise at the property line and buffers from homes and schools.
- Not yet public: which Walmart stores will host hubs, launch dates, and whether the FAA’s environmental review for these metros is done.
- Conflicting figures in coverage are flagged below rather than resolved.
What did Wing and Walmart announce?
A two-metro expansion with a 2027 target and no site list. The table separates what Wing’s own release says from what it leaves out.
| Item | What the announcement says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| New metros | Denver and Seattle, launching in 2027 | Company statement |
| Planned network | Nearly 20 major U.S. metros once the announced expansion is complete | Company plan |
| Current reach | More than three million customers given access so far | Company statement |
| Goal | More than 270 Walmart stores and over 40 million customers | Company target |
| Aircraft | Cruise up to 60 mph; carry up to five pounds | Company statement, not independently tested |
| Ordering | Walmart app, Walmart.com, or the Wing app, once service is available | Company statement |
| Seattle detail | Quote from Federal Way Mayor Jim Ferrell; Puget Sound named | Company statement |
| Stores, hubs, launch month | Not stated | Unknown |
Five metros already have service: Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, Atlanta, Charlotte and Orlando, as listed by both DroneXL and Colorado Public Radio. DroneXL reports that neither Denver nor Seattle appeared on the market lists the companies published in January or June 2026, and that both surfaced first in local filings. CPR reported that Walmart has five stores within Denver city limits and has not said which ones would offer drone delivery.
Where do Denver-area cities stand?
Several suburbs acted before the announcement, in different directions. Each row gives the status as of its latest source; we found no later record for any row except where noted.
| City | Reported status | Source and date | Checked after the source date? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northglenn | Drafting a “Commercial Drone Delivery Hub” land-use category; Planning Commission recommended it September 15; City Council first reading expected October 12, public hearing and second reading October 26. Walmart approached the city about its Neighborhood Market at 10755 N. Washington St. | City staff memo #29-2026 (Sept 21); Westword (Sept 29); DroneLife (Sept 28) | No |
| Castle Rock | Emergency ordinance in July 2026 pausing hub applications for six months, after a Walmart pre-application; the pause ends January 21, 2027, according to DroneXL | DroneXL (Oct 2); Westword (Sept 29); CPR (Oct 5) | No; ordinance text not read by us |
| Parker | Emergency ordinance in July 2026 pausing hub approvals for nine months, according to DroneXL | DroneXL (Oct 2); Westword (Sept 29); CPR (Oct 5) | No; ordinance text not read by us |
| Thornton | Drafting a “Launchpad” ordinance after a pre-application; regulations were scheduled for review on October 6 | Northglenn memo (Aug survey); Westword (Sept 29) | Yes: no public outcome found on Oct 7 |
| Longmont | Treats drone delivery as an undefined, not-permitted use; two Walmart pre-applications with no meeting scheduled | Northglenn memo (Aug survey) | No |
| Wheat Ridge | Developing a dedicated drone ordinance | Northglenn memo (Aug survey); Westword (Sept 29) | No |
| Westminster | Receiving “similar inquiries” from Walmart; no proposal decided | Westword (Sept 29) | No |
| Commerce City, Arvada | Pre-applications reported | Northglenn memo (Aug survey); Westword (Sept 29) | No |
| Denver | No statement or proposed regulation released | CPR (Oct 5) | No |
Two reporting details differ. DroneXL’s articles give the Castle Rock and Parker votes as July 20 and July 21 but swap which town voted on which day, so we give only the month. And Westword, citing Northglenn’s city attorney, said Thornton was approached by Amazon, while DroneXL, citing The Denver Post, said Thornton heard from both Walmart and Amazon.
CPR also reported that a state bill to set statewide and local guidelines for unmanned aircraft died in the State Senate this year; we have not checked the legislature’s own record.
What can a city control, and what can’t it?
The ground, not the air. Northglenn’s staff memo draws the line clearly.
| A city can regulate | A city cannot regulate |
|---|---|
| Where a hub may be built, through zoning and permits | Where drones fly once airborne |
| Pads, structures, fencing, screening, lighting, security | Altitude and flight paths |
| Ground operating hours | Flight schedules |
| Parking taken by the hub | Whether drones from a neighboring town’s hub deliver to its residents |
| Required disclosures (hours, altitude, noise, aircraft count, frequency) for land-use review | Anything the FAA governs, which the memo calls the FAA’s exclusive authority over the airspace |
The memo says operators generally design networks to serve addresses within about four to seven miles of each hub, so “denying a permit to a launch site in Northglenn does not prevent drone delivery activity from occurring in the City.” Northglenn’s draft would require a special use permit, a 200-foot buffer from homes, schools and childcare, a 65-decibel cap at the property line for ground equipment and ground operations, operations from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. or the host business’s hours if those are shorter, and a hub no larger than 10% of the lot or 10,000 square feet, whichever is less. Staff asked council to scrutinize those numbers, so they may change before adoption. Federal rules are moving separately: the FAA’s proposal for routine flights beyond visual line of sight was still a proposal in the Federal Register docket as of October 7, 2026, as our explainer on the FAA’s $12 million drone research awards notes.
Who is affected, and how?
Store operations and city planners feel it first: hubs need parking-lot space and local permits before any delivery starts. The table is our reading of the documents, with the basis for each.
| Who | What changes | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Walmart store operations | A hub takes space in the store’s parking lot and needs local permits; for the proposed Northglenn site, Walmart’s director of government relations told council the hub would use 13 to 30 parking spaces | Westword (Sept 29) |
| Last-mile and delivery planners | A new 2027 option in two more metros, but site-by-site timing depends on local permits | Wing release; city records |
| Competing operators | Amazon has also approached at least one Denver suburb, per Westword; Zipline has a separate FAA draft environmental assessment for the Seattle metro | Westword; FAA review page |
| City planners | Choosing between writing standards now (Northglenn) or pausing while drafting (Castle Rock, Parker) | City memo; DroneXL; CPR |
| Residents near hubs | Ground noise, hours and buffers are set locally; flight concerns go to the FAA | City memo |
Timeline and dates to watch
The next dates to watch are Northglenn’s council readings on October 12 and October 26, 2026, and the end of Castle Rock’s pause on January 21, 2027. Items after October 7, 2026 are scheduled, not confirmed.
| Date | Event | Source | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|
| January 2026 | Wing and Walmart market list (Los Angeles, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Miami); no Colorado or Washington metro | DroneXL | Trade press |
| June 2026 | Seven more metros named; no Colorado or Washington metro | DroneXL | Trade press |
| July 2026 | Castle Rock and Parker pause drone hub applications | DroneXL; Westword; CPR | Local and trade press |
| August 2026 | Northglenn surveys ten peer cities; Walmart approaches Northglenn | Northglenn memo; Westword | City record; local press |
| September 15, 2026 | Northglenn Planning Commission recommends the hub ordinance | DroneLife; DroneXL | Trade press |
| September 24, 2026 | FAA environmental review page last updated; no Colorado entry, and the only Washington entry is Zipline’s Seattle draft | FAA | Federal record |
| October 5, 2026 | Wing and Walmart announce Denver and Seattle for 2027 | Wing | Company release |
| October 6, 2026 | Thornton review scheduled; result to be confirmed | Westword | Local press |
| October 12, 2026 | Northglenn City Council first reading (scheduled) | Northglenn memo | City record |
| October 26, 2026 | Northglenn public hearing and second reading (scheduled) | Northglenn memo | City record |
| January 21, 2027 | Castle Rock pause ends | DroneXL | Trade press citing the ordinance |
| 2027 | Target launch in the Denver and Seattle metros; month not stated | Wing | Company plan |
What is still unconfirmed?
The biggest unknowns are which stores will host hubs, when in 2027 service starts, and which FAA environmental review covers these metros. Each item lists who could settle it and what to look for.
- Which stores and hub sites. Not announced. Watch city planning agendas and Wing or Walmart site announcements.
- Launch timing within 2027. Not announced. Wing and Walmart.
- FAA environmental review for Denver and Seattle. The FAA page we checked lists Wing decisions for its five operating metros and a final national programmatic environmental assessment for drone package delivery, but no Wing entry for Denver or Seattle; the Seattle entry it does have is Zipline’s draft. DroneXL reports Wing has not said whether it will rely on the national assessment. The FAA page is a place to track this; Wing or the FAA would have to confirm which review applies.
- Thornton’s October 6 decision. Not found in public records or coverage as of October 7. Thornton City Council’s record of votes.
- Payload figure. Wing’s release says up to five pounds; a DroneLife photo caption from a January 2026 Houston delivery says up to 2.5 pounds. The release is the company’s current statement; the caption’s basis is not given. Wing’s aircraft specifications, with the conditions they apply to, would settle it.
- Customer access count. The release says more than three million customers have access; in September, Westword quoted a Wing site launch manager saying over a million people have access. The two may measure different things; neither is defined. Wing would need to state the date and definition of each figure.
- Castle Rock and Parker vote dates and terms. Reported inconsistently, as noted above; we did not read the ordinances. The towns’ published ordinances would settle the dates and durations.
- Seattle-area sites. The release quotes Federal Way’s mayor; DroneXL reported a September building permit for a Walmart in Tacoma. The sources we checked confirmed no other site. City permit records and Wing or Walmart site announcements would show more.
Our reading
For a retailer or delivery planner, 2027 is the companies’ target, not a schedule. What will set the pace in the Denver area is local: whether hub ordinances like Northglenn’s pass, whether paused towns adopt rules or extend their pauses, and which stores get permits. Because a pause stops a hub but not deliveries from hubs next door, the map of service is likely to follow where permits are granted rather than city boundaries. Northglenn’s October votes and Castle Rock’s January deadline are the next concrete signals. Medical delivery between fixed hospital sites follows a different path, through state-funded pilots and FAA authorizations rather than city hub permits; our explainer on Munson Healthcare’s phase-two pilot in Michigan shows how one such test is run.
Sources and update log
This explainer is based on Wing’s October 5, 2026 release, the City of Northglenn’s staff memo #29-2026, the FAA’s drone environmental review page, and reporting by Colorado Public Radio, Westword, DroneXL and DroneLife, all accessed October 7, 2026. Company statements are labelled as such. Republished copies of the same reports are not counted as separate sources. Nothing here is a judgment on the safety of any aircraft.
Last checked: October 7, 2026. Next review: after Northglenn’s October 26 vote, or sooner if Thornton’s October 6 outcome is published.


